The Last Word With The Cultured Gamers


Retro Fridays
June 1, 2007, 12:07 pm
Filed under: kid icarus, nintendo, retro friday

So this is a New section of the blog being added, named Retro Fridays. Each Friday I will review a game from the past. It’s pretty simple, and hopefully it will open conversation about the game. This very first week I will start off with 1 of my absolute favorites:

Ah the childhood days spent many hours trying to get our friend pit Across the screen, and dodge those eggplant wizards. A Nintendo Developed game, It uses the same engine as Metroid, I first didn’t expect much from this title way back when, but instantly became addicted (considering I never got addicted to Metroid, I think that definately says something.)  It’s about a boy with wax wings having to raise up to the paradise in the sky, to stop Medusa from her evil plan… and save Palutena… This is definately a game that deals with Greek mythology.

Level Design:

The level Designs were fairly simple at first, but eventually get more complexed with added swords and jars that drop snakes onto you as you pass under them. The Level’s really don’t look complicated until you play them. I still to this day have a hard time beating the game (even though I have completed the task)

The game has an obscure point system, that to this day, I’m not quite sure how it works yet. I’m sure I’m not the only 1.

It’s great to see people remembering this long lost forgotten title by the inclusion of Pit in Brawl… thank you sakurai.

This is bar none one of the most challenging games I have ever played, and is definately a must play for any true gamer.

a 4 out of 5

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

